About us

Mission:  Working together to inspire and empower community connections for a safer Northumberland.

Vision:  To make Northumberland County the safest and healthiest place to live, learn, work and play.



The Safe Communities Northumberland County initiative formed out of a strong desire by a number of individuals to see a safer Northumberland County through injury prevention and awareness.  A partnership developed with the Cobourg and District Safety Council to align efforts and move the initiative forward.  The Leadership Table was formed in May 2013.

On September 24, 2013 over 60 individuals, representing various community agencies and services, came together to set injury priorities for Northumberland County. This Priority Setting Exercise identified 3 areas of focus for injury prevention and awareness activities.

1. Fall Prevention  
2. On Road/Off Road Safety 
3. Self-Harm/Interpersonal Violence

In November 2014, the application to Parachute Canada was submitted and on April 8, 2015 Northumberland became the 66th community in Canada and the 27th community in Ontario to be designated a Canadian Safe Community!    


2018-2020 Strategic Plan here

                                                    Safe Communities Objectives 2018-2020

2018 Newsletter here

2017 Newsletter here

2016 Newsletter here 

2015 Newsletter here

Contact us:  safecommunitiesnorthumberland@gmail.com

February 5, 2018 - Scott Jibb (L) and Tim Blake (R), presented Forrest Rowden a gift of appreciation as he stepped down from the Co-Chair position at the Leadership Table.

Find out more about Designated Safe Communities across Canada here










April 8, 2015 - Official Designation Ceremony, Baltimore ON

From left to right:  Barry King (Parachute Canada), Mark Walas (Co-Chair Leadership Table), Forrest Rowden (Co-Chair Leadership Table), Doug Borton (ret. Detachment Commander, OPP), Phil Pike, Detachment Commander (OPP), Chief Kai Liu (Cobourg Police Service)

Updated January 10, 2019